Roasted Potato Stacks

4 Feb

SlicePotatoesI love me a good potato. Mashed, baked, fried – whatever. Potatoes are one of my favorite foods, particularly because they’re so versatile. I mean, seriously, what can’t you put on top of a potato? So when I started looking for recipes for my February beer dinner that would accompany chili nicely I naturally turned to potatoes. On Pinterest (where else would you go??) I found a great looking recipe for roasted potato stacks. The recipe looked simple enough, was something I could make ahead, and was classy enough to serve at a sit-down dinner. The original recipe is from seasaltwithfood.com and found here.

To start, of course, you’ll need some potatoes. I decided to go with red, white, and purple potatoes. You have to peel the purple potatoes, though, and that is a mess! I had purple splotches all over my countertop.

Potatoes

Next, you slice the potatoes super thin. The original recipe implies you can just do this with a knife if you don’t have a Mandoline but I’m not that ambitious so I went out and got myself a Mandoline. Now I want everything I eat to be cut into thin slices because it’s just that much fun to use! My slicer has three settings and I sliced my stacks on “2”. (I actually tried this recipe before and the “3” setting was too thick – the potatoes didn’t crisp up as much.)

Mandoline

After much slicing you’ll have a beautiful bowl of potatoes! I doubled the recipe since I was serving 10. The recipe I was following suggested 24 small mixed potatoes, or 1 kg (British maybe?), but I found that 6 potatoes (12 when I doubled) worked well.

Next, all you need to do is toss the potatoes with some olive oil, rosemary, lemon juice, and salt and pepper. Add more salt then you think you need. Both times I tried the recipe I didn’t think they were salty enough.

Dressing

Finally, stack the potato slices in muffin tins. Try not to be too OCD like me and want to alternate colors exactly. The first time I made these I just sprayed the tins with cooking spray and the bottom potato stuck like crazy. Cutting out little circles of parchment paper seemed to solve this problem, just be sure that when you lift the stack out the paper stays put.

PreparedPotatoes

I don’t have a picture of the done potatoes because I served them immediately. There was a bit of a disaster, though, when I was cooking them – they started to smoke awfully! All the dinner guests said no big deal, the crispy ones were the best, but I was a bit embarrassed. My only guess is that pre-making them and storing them in the fridge all afternoon wasn’t the best and the extra condensation as they heated up caused some burning.

IMG_7536I served the potatoes with a broccoli salad and paired it with Fuller’s ESB (brewed by Fuller Smith & Turner PLC). I considered Red Hook’s ESB or an Amber but finally settled on Fuller’s because I liked the taste and that it was a British brewery. It was a good pairing.

Roasted Potato Stacks

Everything you’ll need:

  • 6 potatoes (2, white, 2 red, 2 purple, or any combination you prefer)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon rosemary (I used dried)
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • Sea salt and ground pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Oil the molds of a regular-size muffin tin – you may also want to line the bottoms with parchment paper.
  2. Peel the purple potatoes if you’re using them, then slice all of the potatoes thinly with either a Mandoline or a sharp knife.
  3. In a large bowl, toss the potatoes with the olive oil (1/4 cup), rosemary (1 T), lemon juice (1 1/2 T), and salt and pepper.
  4. Stack the potatoes slices in the muffin tin and bake for 25-30 minutes (I go long) at 425 degrees.
  5. Let the potato stacks cool for a few minutes before carefully removing them.
2 Responses to “Roasted Potato Stacks”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Second Bi-Monthly Beer Tasting & Dinner « Flour & Hops - February 4, 2013

    […] the first course we had Roasted Potato Stacks with a Broccoli Salad. The potato stacks may or may not have gotten a little extra roasty and the […]

  2. Marinated Broccoli, Tomato, & Mozzarella Salad « Flour & Hops - February 5, 2013

    […] was looking for a side dish to serve with the Roasted Potato Stacks at my February Beer Dinner and after trying just a green salad, realized the broccoli would be a […]

Leave a Reply

