Chocolate Chip Shortbread (aka My New Favorite Cookie)

6 Feb

So this chocolate chip shortbread is probably my new favorite cookie. Although last weekend I tried another new cookie recipe and that one was pretty delicious, too. And about a week and a half ago there was this other recipe… huh. I might have a cookie problem.

In all seriousness, though, this is a great cookie. I mean you can’t really go wrong when the prime ingredient is butter. The very first time I tried this recipe was at Christmas and I took some to my dad’s house. We ate about half of what I brought and then I had to leave the rest with him – he told me later he ate them the next morning with his coffee.

WeeHeavyI, however, ate mine with a good Scotch Ale. For my February Beer Dinner I paired it with Wee Heavy by Belhaven Brewery Company. Originally I paired the cookies with Fat Scotch Ale by Silver City Brewing Co., but didn’t bring any back from WA with me after Christmas so I went with the next best.

OK, the cookie.

These are pretty simple to make. First, start with butter and sugar. Off to a great start.

IMG_7353

Oh!! So, this recipe (like many) calls for the butter to be at room temperature. I never plan ahead enough to set the butter out, nor do I really have the patience to wait, so I was forever dealing with too hard butter or melty butter from the microwave. After a quick Google search, though, I learned a great trick! Put the butter in the microwave for 5 seconds. Then, rotate it a quarter turn (so what was the top is now the side), and microwave 5 more seconds. Rotate again, 5 seconds, once more, 5 seconds. Perfectly softened, non-melty butter!

Back to the recipe. You beat together the butter and sugar, then add vanilla.

ButterandSugar

Next, the recipe says to whisk together the flour and sugar in a separate bowl. When a recipe calls for a separate bowl for the flour I almost never do it – who wants to wash another bowl?? But I’m open to being convinced as to why I should, so please educate me.

Then, you’re going to beat the poo out of the butter and flour mixture. First it will look like this:

MixStage1

Then you’ll keep beating and it will look like this:

MixStage2

Finally it will resemble dough. I always forget to lock my Kitchen Aide down and the mixer ends up jumping a bit, but then I know I’m getting close to being done mixing. Last, add the chocolate chips. Instead of 1 1/2 cups I ended up adding 1 1/4 cups. Not quite as chocolate-y but I also didn’t have to cut through as many chips.

You’re going to end up shaping and then wrapping the dough in wax paper so to start dump your dough onto a piece of wax paper.

Dough

Then, wash your hands. Especially if you’re writing about making these cookies and some of the people who ate the cookies are also reading your blog post. You’ll want to shape the dough into a long log. I think it kind of looked like a snake. If you’re successful making your log rounded, please tell me your technique. I could only manage flat sides so I went for more of a square shape.

DoughLog

Then, wrap the dough log in your wax paper and refrigerate for at least an hour.

WrappedLog

Do the dishes, have a pint of beer, read part of a magazine, and then take your dough out of the fridge and slice into 1/4 inch or so slices.

Sliced

The cookies don’t really spread out so you can put them close together on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper (you already did the dishes – don’t get the cookie sheet dirty!). Bake until chocolate goodness fills the air and then check the edges of the cookies – they should just be browning. I had to resist the temptation to let the edges brown too much. The first time I kept putting them back in “for just one more minute” and ended up with hard, although still delicious, cookies.

Baked

Chocolate Chip Shortbread

I found the original recipe at the delishhh blog here, but I don’t think that’s the original source and couldn’t quite pin it down.

Everything you’ll need:

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 (or 1 and 1/2) cups chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Cream together the butter (3/4 cups) and sugar (1/2 cup) until “fluffy” – about three minutes. Mix in the vanilla (1/2 t).
  2. Add the flour (1 3/4 cups) and salt (1/4 t) to the butter/sugar mixture and mix together. Start on low speed and gradually increase until dough forms.
  3. Add the chocolate chips (1 1/4 cups) and mix until combined.
  4. Roll the dough into a log that’s about 2 inches in diameter on a piece of wax paper. Wrap the log in the wax paper and frigate for at an hour.
  5. Slice the log into 1/4 inch slices and place the slices on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-13 minutes, or until the edges of just browning.

This cookies will also keep for a long time if stored in an airtight container. Not that you’ll have many around to keep… Enjoy!

One Response to “Chocolate Chip Shortbread (aka My New Favorite Cookie)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Cookies « Flour & Hops - February 14, 2013

    […] being Valentine’s day and all, I baked a batch of these, a batch of my new favorite cookie, and a batch of these weird strawberry cookies and packaged them up for my co-workers. There was A […]

Leave a Reply

