Vegetarian Cornmeal Chili

10 Feb

IMG_7495This recipe is quick and simple for a night when you just need some good comfort food. I also love it because I always have leftovers and they make a wonderful lunch the next day.

First, chop, chop, chop – the onion, garlic, carrot, and pepper. I don’t like green bell pepper so I always choose yellow or orange but that’s up to your discretion.

IMG_7497

Next, saute. I usually throw the carrot in there first to give it a little extra cooking time. Then simply add everything else and cook until tender.

IMG_7502

Next, mix the spices in. Like your chili hot? Add some extra chili powder.

IMG_7503

Finally, dump everything else into the pot and let it cook! I moved mine to a crock-pot because I made it for my February beer dinner and had doubled the recipe and needed to keep the chili warm for awhile. Right before serving mix in a 1/4 cup of cornmeal to thicken the chili. It also adds a little unexpected texture.

IMG_7506

IMG_7533I paired the chili with Downtown Brown by Lost Coast Brewery. Its an English style brown ale so it doesn’t overpower the food flavors like some of the other beers I tried. There’s a nice roasted taste and just a tish of chocolate. I first tried Lost Coast’s Winterbraun but the flavor was too much (good beer, though). Originally I had planned on pairing the chili with Brekle’s Brown by Anchor Brewing Co. but had trouble finding it when it got closer to the dinner. Brekle’s Brown is a favorite of mine. I also served cornbread mini muffins, which were delicious!

Vegetarian Cornmeal Chili

The original recipe is found at Wholesome RD.

Everything you’ll need:

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped (I usually add more!)
  • 1 Tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/2 Tablespoon cumin
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • Pinch of cinnamon (careful about putting too much)
  • 2, 15-ounce cans of fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1, 15-ounce can of kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1, 15-ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • Scallions, for garnish

Directions:

  1. Add olive oil to a dutch oven or large pot and heat. Add the carrots and cook for a few minutes, then add onion, pepper, and garlic and saute for about 10 minutes, until browned.
  2. Add the spices: chili powder (1 T), cumin (1/2 T), cayenne pepper (pinch), and cinnamon (just a pinch) and mix until combine.
  3. Add the fire roasted tomatoes and beans. Simmer for 30 minutes.
  4. Finally, add the cornmeal (1/4 cup) to thicken the chili. Serve with scallions on top if desired.
3 Responses to “Vegetarian Cornmeal Chili”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mini Cornbread Muffins « Flour & Hops - February 11, 2013

    […] Monday post to go along with yesterday’s Chili recipe. I love cornbread. Actually, I had some last night and we agreed that cornbread is basically like […]

  2. Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcakes | Flour & Hops - February 21, 2013

    […] spices all I could think about was how I’m pretty sure I used these exact same spices in my chili recipe a few weeks […]

  3. Meal Planning! | Flour & Hops - July 22, 2014

    […] Vegetarian Chili […]

Leave a Reply

