Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Cookies

14 Feb

I don’t think there’s a better combination than peanut butter and chocolate. When I was a kid one of my favorite “sneaky” snacks was a scoop of peanut butter out of the jar and a glass of chocolate milk. So, when I ran across this recipe for a peanut butter and chocolate cookie, I knew I needed to try it! Not only do these cookies have peanut butter chips, they also have a bit of peanut butter right in the batter. Perfect!

First, mix together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt. I actually did this in a separate bowl this time to make sure the cocoa powder was mixed in well. Usually I just throw the dry ingredients in after the wet.

IMG_7521

Next, use a mixer to beat together the butter, peanut butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar until smooth.

IMG_7515

Add the egg and the egg yolk (and don’t drop half the egg shell in like I did!). Then add the vanilla.

IMG_7520

Then, add the flour mixture and mix it up.

IMG_7523

Best part – add the peanut butter chips. The bad thing about the Reese’s brand peanut butter chips is they come in a 1-3/4 cups bag. I have no recipes that call for that number of peanut butter chips or any logical division of that. So usually I’m left with part of a bag of peanut butter chips. The good thing, I’m left with part of a bag of peanut butter chips and no good use except to eat them!

IMG_7525

Drop the cookies onto a cooking sheet (I LOVE parchment paper – I use it all the time now!) and bake those babies!

IMG_7527

I found the dough to be stickier than normal and was a little worried that the cookies would spread out too much or otherwise be a disaster but they turned out great.

IMG_7530

If being Valentine’s day and all, I baked a batch of these, a batch of my new favorite cookie, and a batch of these weird strawberry cookies and packaged them up for my co-workers. There was A LOT of sugar in the office today, but I think everyone enjoyed them.

IMG_7723

Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Cookies

I found the original recipe at handletheheat.com here. (Super cute name, right?)

Everything you’ll need:

  • 1-1/4 cups flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup peanut butter chips

Directions:

  1. In a bowl mixture together the flour (1-1/4 cups), cocoa powder (1/3 cup), baking powder (1 t), and salt (1/4 t). Set aside for the time being.
  2. In a mixing bowl beat together the butter (1/2 cup), peanut butter (1/4 cup), granulated sugar (1/4 cup), and brown sugar (3/4 cup) until smooth.
  3. Add the egg and egg yolk and beat until combined. Add the vanilla (1/2 t).
  4. Gradually add the flour mixture to the butter/sugar mixture until combined.
  5. Mix in the peanut butter chips.
  6. Drop dough onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper and back for 10 minutes at 350 degrees.
Leave a Reply

