Chocolate Stout Cake with Baileys Irish Cream Cheese Frosting

5 Mar

In celebration of the Sacramento Beer Fest last Saturday and in anticipation of St. Patrick’s Day I decided to make this cake. The girls and I needed something sweet to come home to after an afternoon of beer “studying”. Saturday morning I woke up early to bake. The problem though, with baking a chocolate stout cake at nine in the morning is that you have to find something to do with the leftover ingredients…. This cake was a bit involved, as all cakes are, but 100% worth it.

The original recipe is called “Guinness Stout Cake” but seeing as I had a chocolate stout in the fridge that I wanted to taste in anticipation of the April beer dinner I used it. It was sooooo good! Like drinking chocolate soda. No bitterness or overt beer flavor. I even think that some of my non-beer loving friends would embrace this beer.

IMG_7865

Now, I always love recipes that start with “Cream the butter and sugar together” but I think I found an instruction that one-ups it – “Place the butter and stout in a saucepan and heat until the butter melts.” Butter and beer! Oh my goodness!

IMG_7867

While the butter was melting in a rich and delicious butter-beer mixture….

IMG_7870

…I mixed together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt and set aside.

IMG_7869

Then, I beat together the eggs and sour cream.

IMG_7872

Next, I added the stout mixture, followed by the flour mixture.

IMG_7877

Just as I was admiring the pretty light brown color of the mixture I realized  it really shouldn’t be that light…. something was missing. Oh that’s right – the cocoa powder I was suppose to add to the butter-beer mix! Maybe I shouldn’t have finished the leftover ingredients… I threw in the cocoa powder at the last minute, gave it a good mix, and crossed my fingers. Of course after that I was so distracted that I simplely poured the batter into the buttered & floured pans forgetting to take pictures of the now correctly colored batter…

…and baked the two layers to chocolate-y perfection.

IMG_7883

After the cakes have cooled it’s time for the frosting! The Baileys cream cheese frosting!

IMG_7881

My frosting did not come out great – there were still little clumps of powdered sugar – but damn was it good.

IMG_7885

Two pictures good.

IMG_7887

I frosted the first layer but should have put more on – the inside could have used more Baileys delish.

IMG_7888

Frost and decorate!

IMG_7889

This cake was really, really good. Super chocolate-y (thank you chocolate stout!) and super dense and moist. Perfect for St. Patrick’s Day or any day you need to celebrate beer!

Chocolate Stout Cake with Baileys Irish Cream Cheese Frosting

The original recipe was found at Brown Eyed Baker.

Everything you’ll need:

For the cake-

  • 1-1/2 cups stout or dark beer
  • 1-1/2 cups unsalted butter
  • 1 cup cocoa powder (don’t forget!)
  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 2-1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 2/3 cup sour cream

For the frosting-

  • 16 ounces cream cheese at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup butter at room temperature
  • 7 Tablespoons Baileys Irish Cream
  • 6 cups powdered sugar

Directions:

For the cake-

  1. Place the stout (1-1/2 cups) and butter (1-1/2 cups) in a large saucepan and heat until the butter melts.
  2. Remove from heat, add the cocoa powder (1 cup), and whisk until smooth. Set aside and cool to room temperature.
  3. Whisk together the flour (3 cups), sugar (3 cups), baking powder (2-1/4 t), and salt (1 t) and set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, beat together the eggs (3) and sour cream (2/3 cups).
  5. Add the stout-cocoa mixture and mix to combine.
  6. Add the flour mixture and mix together, scraping the sides and bottom of the bowl.
  7. Divided the batter between two greased and floured pans and bake for 35 minutes at 350 degrees.

For the frosting-

  1. In a mixing bowl, blend together the cream cheese (16 oz), butter (1/2 cup), and Baileys (7 T) until completely smooth and combined.
  2. Gradually add the powdered sugar (6 cups total) on medium-low speed until all the sugar is added.
  3. When the cake has completely cooled, frost.
One Response to “Chocolate Stout Cake with Baileys Irish Cream Cheese Frosting”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cupcakes, and Muffins, and Booze, Oh My! | Flour & Hops - April 25, 2013

    […] with Bailey’s Buttercream Frosting. I had some Bailey’s left from when I made the Chocolate Stout Cake so I figured I should do a little more baking (and I’ll admit, a little drinking). Besides […]

Leave a Reply

