Southwestern Egg Rolls

9 Mar

When I was a child and we went out to dinner my mom use to take a napkin and somehow rolled and folded it into two little “babies in a blanket.” It was a good trick – I spent a good amount of the pre-eating waiting time rocking those cloth children back and forth. Making these Southwest Egg Rolls reminded me of that, just with a more satisfying crunch!

I’ve never made egg rolls or worked with egg roll wrappers so I was pleasantly surprised with how easy they were to make. Basically you mix a bunch of stuff together, wrap ’em up, and bake away!

First, start with some cheese and chives.

IMG_7939

Next, add some spinach. The original recipe calls for frozen spinach but I was too impatient to wait for it to thaw so I cut up some fresh spinach I had in the fridge. Plus, fresh is just better than frozen. (Please excuse the photo quality – I’m back to my little point-and-shoot.)

IMG_7942

Throw in some diced chilies and beans. I went with pinto instead of black to mix it up a bit.

IMG_7945

Add some corn, too, and mix it, mix it up.

IMG_7946

So that’s it for the “cooking” part. Now you’ve got to roll ’em. Roll ’em up.

Start with an egg roll wrapper.

IMG_7947

Plop about 1/4 cup of filling near the center.

IMG_7948

Start rolling about half way, then fold the two edges to the middle, finish rolling. Finally, seal the little corner by dipping you finger in some water and brushing it over the corner.

IMG_7949

Wrap up a bunch and you’re ready to bake.

IMG_7950

I baked about half the rolls I made and then laid out the others to freeze. (They reheated pretty awesomely.) Also, I had a good cup of filling left, since there were only 20 wrappers in the package I bought.

IMG_7954

I decided to pair the rolls with the Scuttlebutt Gale Force IPA. It was a good, mild IPA. I liked the flavor but it was super carbonated. I wondered if it was just my bottle, or it was just characteristic of this beer. And let’s be honest. I picked the beer out for the name. Scuttlebutt!

IMG_7896

Southwestern Egg Rolls

I found the original recipe here at Annie’s Eats. I’m putting in the measurements from the original recipe but I didn’t really measure when I put the mixture together – fudging it a little works.

Everything you’ll need:

  • 2 cups shredded cheese
  • 2 cups frozen corn, thawed
  • 1 can (15 ounces) black or pinto beans rinsed and drained
  • Chopped spinach (either 10 ounces of frozen spinach, thawed or rough estimate of chopped fresh spinach)
  • 1 can (4 ounces) diced green chilies drained
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I omitted b/c in the comments of the original recipe someone said the diced green chilies added a lot of salt already)
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 package egg roll wrappers (about 24 total)

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, combine everything but the egg rolls and mix well.
  2. Lay an egg roll wrapper out with the corner pointing to you and place 1/4 cup of mixture in the center.
  3. Fold the tip close to you over the mixture, roll a little, then fold the corners in. Continue rolling and seal the final corner with a little bit of water.
  4. Bake for about 15 minutes at 425 degrees until lightly brown.
One Response to “Southwestern Egg Rolls”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meal Planning! | Flour & Hops - July 22, 2014

    […] Southwestern Egg Rolls […]

Leave a Reply

