Cupcake Delish with Nutella Frosting

20 Mar

I got a new job! Kind of in a rush, all of a sudden, totally overwhelming excitement!

So yesterday I was feeling completely bogged down trying to wrap up things at the old jobs and get started at the new job and I decided the solution was cupcakes. Delicious shortcake cupcakes with Nutella frosting. I mean really, what’s better than Nutella? Plus cupcakes were the perfect thing to take to work today as a “Thank you” and “Don’t hate me” ’cause I’m leaving with less than two weeks notice…

First the cupcakes. Start by beating the eggs for 4ish minutes on medium until yellow and fluffy.

IMG_8031

Next, add the sugar and beat for another 4 minutes.

IMG_8034

In the meantime you get all the dry ingredients ready. I got to use my new sifter! I’ve never had a sifter! It’s kind of fun!

IMG_8032

The sifter definitely made a difference in the fineness of the flour.

IMG_8040

You also have to work on melting the butter, adding the milk, and warming it to “lukewarm” temperature. I’m not entirely sure how to measure “lukewarm” temperature but I just stuck my pinkie in and hoped it didn’t burn me.

IMG_8043

Then, you add the dry ingredients to the egg/sugar mixture, followed by the butter/milk mixture.

IMG_8045

Divide the batter into the muffin tins. The recipe said the batter would be “fairly runny” and it really was. Then, bake!

IMG_8048

Let the cupcakes cool. While that happens, make the frosting. First, blend the butter and powdered sugar.

IMG_8049

Add the Nutella.

I always hate adding things like peanut butter to recipes because all of this stuff is left over in the measuring cup but with the Nutella I didn’t mind. I just licked the measuring cup.

IMG_8052

Finally, add a little vanilla and two tablespoons of heavy whipping cream. Light, delicious, Nutella frosting!

IMG_8054

Something I’ve found now that I’m cooking and baking more is that there are about a million kitchen gadets that I just “have to have.” One of which is a pastry bag and tip. But I haven’t quite gotten around to getting one, or convincing myself that it’s really a “need”. Still, though, I want to make those beautiful and enticingly deliciously decorated cupcakes I see in other blogs. My solution? Frosting in a bag. So, I stuffed the bag into a large cup to help the transfer of the frosting from the bowl, tied it off, and then cut off just a tip of the bag. It worked pretty well.

IMG_8057

But then my cupcakes looked like they had little turds on top. (Haha, poos – clearly its time to move on from the 6th graders I have been teaching…)

IMG_8060

To try and negate that image I added chocolate chips. I think it worked. Plus, the cupcake I had was amazing!! A perfect distraction from a little stress.

IMG_8064

Shortcake Cupcakes with Nutella Buttercream Frosting

The original frosting recipe was found at Kitchen Treaty here, which also links to the original cupcake recipe.

Everything you’ll need:

For the cupcakes-

  • 4 eggs
  • 1-1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup whole milk (I used 3/4 cup regular milk + 1/4 cup whipping cream)
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

For the frosting-

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2/3 cup Nutella
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 Tablespoons heavy whipping cream

Directions:

For the cupcakes-

  1. In a large bowl, beat the eggs (4) on medium speed for four minutes until fluffy and pale yellow.
  2. Add the vanilla (1 tsp) and beat for a few more seconds.
  3. Add the sugar (1-1/2 cups) and beat for another four minutes until light and fluffy.
  4. In a separate bowl sift together the flour (2 cups), baking powder (2 tsp), and salt (1/4 tsp) and set aside.
  5. In a saucepan, melt the butter (1/4 cup), then add the milk (1 cup total) and warm until lukewarm.
  6. While mixing on low speed, add the dry ingredients to the egg/butter mixture, followed by the milk/butter mixture and beat until combined.
  7. Divide the batter (it will be pretty runny) between muffin tins (mine made ~20).
  8. Bake 15-18 minutes at 325 degrees.

For the frosting-

  1. In a mixer, beat together the butter (1 cup, 2 sticks) and powdered sugar (2 cups) on low until well blended.
  2. Add the Nutella (2/3 cup) and beat for two more minutes on medium.
  3. Add the vanilla (1 tsp.) and whip for 30 seconds.
  4. Finally, add the whipping cream (2 T) and beat for about one minute until the frosting is light and fluffy!
Leave a Reply

