Caprese Polenta Stacks

15 Nov

Life has been busy. I don’t think I realized when I started this blog (almost a year ago, gasp!) just how bored I was with my life and work. I mean, I knew I wasn’t 100% satisfied sitting in an office for more than half of my days but I was looking for an outlet. Now that I’ve been back to teaching full time for three months I realize how totally exhausting it is, but also how completely engaging. Thus, my painfully, painfully behind posts.

Now that it’s November a post about an amazingly fresh, summery caprese salad is a bit out of date but it was so yummy that I wanted to share. Plus I’m getting just enough distance from the 100 degree days that I’m missing summer a bit. I was inspired by Melissa at madeinmelskitchen.com.

Start by slicing up a polenta log. Sprinkle each slice with garlic powder, salt, and pepper and then cook in olive oil for 3-4 minutes. Next, flip and cook 2-3 minutes on the other side. For some extra deliciousness you next sprinkle grated parmesan cheese on one side, flip, cook for a bit, then flip and melt the cheese on the other side. With this alone I would be satisfied!

IMG_0281

I let the polenta cool then stacked them with alternating slices of farmers market tomatoes and mozzarella.

IMG_0282

Top with basil and a balsamic vinegar reduction (thanks Trader Joe’s!) and serve. Super easy and you look like an amazing and talented cook!

IMG_0288

One Response to “Caprese Polenta Stacks”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. September Beer Dinner | Flour & Hops - November 15, 2013

    […] started with Caprese Polenta Stacks paired with Paulaner […]

Leave a Reply

