Irish Coffee Cupcakes

16 Mar

This past Thursday was “the night” – a major presentation and the culmination of a project my 9th graders have been working on for the last six weeks. The school I work at uses projects and presentation as an evaluative tool instead of tests and this particular project was presented not just to me, but the whole school and larger community. We ran around like yahoos getting set up for at least the past week. And damn did they pull it off. I got to walk around all night just eavesdropping and there’s nothing sweeter than hearing that kid who never appears to be paying attention in class rocking his presentation.

Projects like this seem to take on a life of their own and overwhelm everything else the kids are supposed to be working on, so as a thank you for my colleagues who put up with it all I brought in Coffee Cupcakes. They were delicious and just the right kind of pick me up!

It being March though, and St. Patrick’s Day, I decided to Irish them up this weekend. You can’t exactly bring whiskey spiked cupcakes to school but I can certainly enjoy them from my kitchen! The first time I made them I followed “I Heart Kitchen’s” Triple Chocolate Coffee Cupcakes recipe with a buttercream frosting. The second time I modified a bit. And by modified, I mean added booze.

I started by adding the dry ingredients together. (I reduced the cocoa powder from four to three tablespoons because while chocolate is amazing, I’m not a huge fan of richly chocolate cake.)

IMG_1150

Next, whip up the butter and the sugar. Always butter and sugar. Then add the eggs until you have a beautifully yellow mixture.

IMG_1151

While the butter is a blending, combine the coffee, whiskey, and vanilla. (The original recipe was all coffee – I reduced the amount of coffee by the amount of alcohol I added.)

IMG_1152

Next, alternate adding the dry ingredients and liquid. Then, add some chocolate chips! I used the little ones because they’re cute and proportional to cupcakes but also doubled the amount called for.

IMG_1155

Distribute evenly into muffin tins – the recipe made 18 cupcakes.

IMG_1157

With the whiskey added the cupcakes didn’t rise quite as much as when I followed the original recipe but they were a lot moister. The whiskey flavor was very subtle, I could only taste it in a bite or two, and I was happier with the more minimal chocolate flavor.

IMG_1161

Of course, I can’t call this an Irish cupcake without a little Bailey’s. That’s what frosting is for!

IMG_1165

Topped with Bailey’s buttercream frosting and some green sprinkles, these cupcakes are perfect for St. Patrick’s Day or anytime you need a little coffee and booze break!

IMG_1169

The original cupcake recipe was from I Heart Kitchen and the frosting recipe was from Recipe Girl (I made it before to top my Irish Cream Cupcakes last year!)

Irish Coffee Cupcakes (makes 18 cupcakes)

Everything you’ll need

For the cupcakes

  • 1-3/4 cups flour, plus 1 tablespoon
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • About 1 cup brewed coffee, chilled
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • About 50 mL whiskey
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

For the frosting

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients – flour (1-3/4 c. + 1 T), baking powder (2 t.), salt (1/4 t.), and cocoa (3 T).
  3. Combine the coffee and whiskey (should be 1 cup TOTAL) with vanilla (1/2 t.) and set aside.
  4. Beat together the butter (1/2 c.) and sugar (1 c.).
  5. Add the eggs (2) one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  6. Alternating, add the dry ingredients and the liquid to the butter-sugar-egg mixture, mixing well.
  7. Fold in the chocolate chips (1/2 c.)
  8. Line muffin tins and fill with 1/4 cup of mixture.
  9. Bake for 20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.
  10. For the frosting: Beat the butter (1 c.) and sugar (3 c.) together, then add the Bailey’s and vanilla. Add more powdered sugar if needed or thin (if needed) with a little milk.
Leave a Reply

