Stuffed (with good tidings) Potatoes

19 Mar

I’m feeling full of love and good tidings. Something about putting my body to work, being amongst the green and growing, cooking good food. Because that’s what I did this afternoon. I ran out of work early today and made the afternoon about things I wanted to do. There never seems to be enough time to do that and so often I start conversations with friends and colleagues about how tired we are, how busy, how stressed. So today was all spring and good tidings.

After work I went to the pool to swim laps (and by swim laps I mean flail around a bit and stop to catch my breath every four lengths…) and then headed to the grocery store. I’ve reached my limit of cheese and cracker lunches so I had to get something. Walking by the deli case I was inspired by the twice baked potatoes and decided to make my own for dinner (and lunch tomorrow!)

I’ve made these any number of times before and tend to go long stretches forgetting about them. The recipe is originally from a Weight Watchers cookbook but I don’t really measure much now – just throw things in until they taste good. Mix in whatever you want!

Start, of course, by baking up some potatoes. I pulled weeds while they cooked. You can almost see my backyard again. Seriously, there were (still are) a lot of weeds.

IMG_1182

While the potatoes are finishing up chop and saute onion, broccoli, and carrots.

IMG_1187

Next, scoop out the insides of the potatoes and mash with a little butter, milk, and salt and pepper.

IMG_1189

Be careful not to burn your fingers while scooping. I’ve made that mistake before. More than once.

IMG_1188

Mix some cottage cheese and a little shredded cheese into the mashed potatoes and add the veggies.

IMG_1191

Scoop the potato-veggie mix back into the potato skins, sprinkle with a bit of cheese, then bake.

IMG_1195

And that’s it! The cooking time is long but the recipe is simple.

IMG_1201

I’m playing with the idea of serving these at the next beer dinner. My thought was to make April’s beer dinner iPAlooza (get it!? IPA-palooza! All IPAs!) so I paired tonight’s dinner with the KBC IPA. The beer was good. The pairing just OK. Suggestions?

Happy Spring and good tidings! I hope you take a moment in your day that’s just for you!

Stuffed Potatoes

Everything You’ll Need

  • 2 large russet potatoes
  • Onion
  • Carrot
  • Head of broccoli
  • Other veggies if you want!
  • About 4 ounces of cottage cheese
  • About 1/2 cup shredded cheese, divided
  • Little bit of milk
  • Little bit of butter

Instructions

  1. Cook potatoes at 375 degrees for about an hour and fifteen minutes or until tender.
  2. Chop the onion, carrot, and broccoli and saute in olive oil until tender. Add spices if you want! Like garlic powder!
  3. When the potatoes are done, carefully cut them in half and scoop out the flesh, leaving the skin in tact.
  4. Mash the potatoes with a little bit of milk and butter. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Add the cottage cheese and half the shredded cheese to the potatoes and fold in. Then, add the veggies.
  6. Scoop the potato-veggie mix into the potato skins and sprinkle the rest of the shredded cheese on top.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees about 15 minutes until heated through.
One Response to “Stuffed (with good tidings) Potatoes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meal Planning! | Flour & Hops - July 22, 2014

    […] Stuffed Potatoes […]

Leave a Reply

